Waiting on Wednesday: The Other Side of the Sky

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

40599772. sy475 This week I am waiting on
The Other Side of the Sky by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Publication Date: September 8th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
Prince North’s home is in the sky, in a gleaming city held aloft by intricate engines powered by technology. Nimh is the living goddess of her people on the surface, responsible for providing answers, direction—hope.

Linked by a terrifying prophecy and caught between duty and fate, they must choose between saving their people or succumbing to the bond that is forbidden between them.

Continue reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Book Predictions – 5 Star Reads on My TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and Bookish and hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl where we get a new topic for a top 10 list.

The elusive 5-star rating does not come out often, so when it does, you know you’re in for a treat. Some books are great, others are memorable, and some are so profound and moving, and stay with you for years afterwards. Those books are usually my 5-Star reads, and here are my predicted 5-Star reads on my TBR.

1. Us Against You by Fredrik Backman: As someone who has already declared Beartown to be the best book they read in 2020, there is no doubt that Us Against You will be an equally compelling story about the residence of Beartown. I’m ready to go on this emotional rollercoaster ride.
Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: Forest of Souls

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

45554589. sy475 This week I am waiting on
Forest of Souls (Shamanborn, #1) by Lori M. Lee

Publication Date: June 23rd, 2020

Goodreads Summary
Danger lurks within the roots of Forest of Souls, an epic, unrelenting tale of destiny and sisterhood, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Susan Dennard.

Sirscha Ashwyn comes from nothing, but she’s intent on becoming something. After years of training to become the queen’s next royal spy, her plans are derailed when shamans attack and kill her best friend Saengo.

And then Sirscha, somehow, restores Saengo to life.

Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: If I Never Met You

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

46650016This week I am waiting on
If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

Publication Date: March 4th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
If faking love is this easy… how do you know when it’s real?

When her partner of over a decade suddenly ends things, Laurie is left reeling—not only because they work at the same law firm and she has to see him every day. Her once perfect life is in shambles and the thought of dating again in the age of Tinder is nothing short of horrifying. When news of her ex’s pregnant girlfriend hits the office grapevine, taking the humiliation lying down is not an option. Then a chance encounter in a broken-down elevator with the office playboy opens up a new possibility.

Continue reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Most Recent Additions to My Bookshelf.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and Bookish and hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl where we get a new topic for a top 10 list.

The festive period is well and truly over and now that we’ve settled back into a routine, it’s time to make room for the multitude of books we’ve acquired on the already full bookshelves. As always, readers are spoilt for choice for when it comes to stellar books, and I am so excited to get my teeth sunk into the recent additions to my bookshelf.

Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: Aurora Burning

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

40516960This week I am waiting on
Aurora Burning (The Aurora Cycle, #2) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Publication Date: May 5th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
Our heroes are back… kind of. From the bestselling co-authors of the Illuminae Files comes the second book in the epic series about a squad of misfits, losers, and discipline cases who just might be the galaxy’s best hope for survival.

First, the bad news: an ancient evil—you know, your standard consume-all-life-in-the-galaxy deal—is about to be unleashed. The good news? Squad 312 is standing by to save the day. They’ve just got to take care of a few small distractions first.

Like the clan of gremps who’d like to rearrange their favorite faces.

Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: More than Just a Pretty Face

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

42655335This week I am waiting on
More Than Just a Pretty Face by Syed M. Masood

Publication Date: August 4th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Danyal Jilani doesn’t lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he’s funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn’t approve of his career choice, but that hardly matters. What does matter is the opinion of Danyal’s longtime crush, the perfect-in-all-ways Kaval, and her family, who consider him a less than ideal arranged marriage prospect.

Continue reading