March Wrap Up 2020

March definitely made itself know. As far as the months go, March was all about shaking things up. What started out as just another month, ended in a total upheaval of our way of life. Yes, we’re talking about the elephant in the room, you can’t ignore the impact Covid19 has had on everyday life and now we’re left to establish a new normal. All that’s left to say is stay safe.

Download GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

So, what have we been getting up to? Well, as far as March goals, we got it done. Yes, Muse of Nightmares has been read and conquered. Watch this space for the review, but it’s safe to say that Laini Taylor is a force to be reckoned with and Lazlo Strange is the biggest darling in fantasy. The dilemma, what to read next. 

This girl fell down the hole that is the Nintendo Switch Lite. Now, I am a rusty gamer with Spyro the Dragon and Crash Bandicoot being the childhood areas of expertise, but I’d been itching to get back into games and thought, why not? So far, there has been no Animal Crossing yet. Instead, we’re talking Undertale, an addictive game with old school vibes, quirky and lovable characters, and an epic concept. It’s a game where every decision has an impact on the end and it’s up to you if you choose to go down the pacifist route or full genocide. Safe to say, I’m hooked. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: Blood & Honey

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

40550366. sy475 This week I am waiting on
Blood & Honey (Serpent & Dove, #2) by Shelby Mahurin

Publication Date: September 1st, 2020

Goodreads Summary
The hotly anticipated sequel to the New York Times and IndieBound bestseller Serpent & Dove—packed with even steamier romance and darker magic—is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas.

After narrowly escaping death at the hands of the Dames Blanches, Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel are on the run from coven, kingdom, and church—fugitives with nowhere to hide.

Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: You Had Me at Hola

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

46729772This week I am waiting on
You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria

Publication Date: July 7th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez.

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy.

Continue reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR 2020

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and Bookish and hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl where we get a new topic for a top 10 list.

I try to be realistic about my tbr lists. As many of you know, I’m not the reader I once was and chances are I’m likely to only finish one book on this list. I’m a mood reader and a slow reader, but the good news is that I’ve come to love reading again and strive to do more this year. With the way the years turning out, I think a good book is the best way to shut out the world. Here’s my spring TBR.

Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: A Deadly Education

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

50548197This week I am waiting on
A Deadly Education (Scholomance, #1) by Naomi Novik

Publication Date: September 29th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
Lesson One of the Scholomance

Learning has never been this deadly

A Deadly Education is set at Scholomance, a school for the magically gifted where failure means certain death (for real) — until one girl, El, begins to unlock its many secrets. There are no teachers, no holidays, and no friendships, save strategic ones. Survival is more important than any letter grade, for the school won’t allow its students to leave until they graduate… or die! The rules are deceptively simple: Don’t walk the halls alone. And beware of the monsters who lurk everywhere. El is uniquely prepared for the school’s dangers. She may be without allies, but she possesses a dark power strong enough to level mountains and wipe out millions. It would be easy enough for El to defeat the monsters that prowl the school. The problem? Her powerful dark magic might also kill all the other students.


Continue reading

February Wrap Up 2020

February has been a mixed bag. There were bright moments with birthday celebrations and reunions with old friends, and sad times with funerals and a lot of questions. On top of all that, we have been bombarded by one storm after the other in the  UK as the rainfall has lead to floods in my surrounding area, luckily I live on a hill, and our already bad country lanes being in worse condition than ever. Mother nature has definitely made herself known this month.

Image result for wind cat gif

With the incessant rain and gusts, most of my free time has been spent indoors catching up with my TV shows, films, and reading. I’m making slow progress on my current read, but I am loving every minute.

Some blogging highlights in February have been my review for Beartown, which is basically like a love letter to this beautiful book, my lord of the rings discussion post, and list of tips to recover from a book hangover. Here is what I’ve been getting up to on the blog in February. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: Ruthless Gods

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

40126121. sy475This week I am waiting on
Ruthless Gods (Something Dark and Holy, #2) by Emily A. Duncan

Publication Date: April 7th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
Darkness never works alone…

Nadya doesn’t trust her magic anymore. Serefin is fighting off a voice in his head that doesn’t belong to him. Malachiasz is at war with who–and what–he’s become.

As their group is continually torn apart, the girl, the prince, and the monster find their fates irrevocably intertwined. They’re pieces on a board, being orchestrated by someone… or something. The voices that Serefin hears in the darkness, the ones that Nadya believes are her gods, the ones that Malachiasz is desperate to meet—those voices want a stake in the world, and they refuse to stay quiet any longer.


Continue reading