Midnight Movies: An Adam Driver Special

Adam Driver has easily become one of the most prolific actors of our time, displaying his range as an actor in every role he takes. He’s one of those performers that instantly captivates audiences with his nuanced performances, turning one-dimensional characters into complex and compelling individuals. Here is a small selection of films that demonstrate just how versatile of an actor Adam Driver is.

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

And so we come to the end of the Skywalker saga. The final trilogy of this saga has not been as smooth sailing as they’d like, with The Last Jedi facing the scorn of fans and The Rise of Skywalker causing further divisions. However, if there is anything that we can take away from this sequel trilogy it’s the way it celebrates the legacy of this epic sci-fi saga. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: If I Never Met You

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

46650016This week I am waiting on
If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

Publication Date: March 4th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
If faking love is this easy… how do you know when it’s real?

When her partner of over a decade suddenly ends things, Laurie is left reeling—not only because they work at the same law firm and she has to see him every day. Her once perfect life is in shambles and the thought of dating again in the age of Tinder is nothing short of horrifying. When news of her ex’s pregnant girlfriend hits the office grapevine, taking the humiliation lying down is not an option. Then a chance encounter in a broken-down elevator with the office playboy opens up a new possibility.

Continue reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Most Recent Additions to My Bookshelf.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and Bookish and hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl where we get a new topic for a top 10 list.

The festive period is well and truly over and now that we’ve settled back into a routine, it’s time to make room for the multitude of books we’ve acquired on the already full bookshelves. As always, readers are spoilt for choice for when it comes to stellar books, and I am so excited to get my teeth sunk into the recent additions to my bookshelf.

Continue reading

Most Anticipated Movies of 2020

2020 is shaping up to be a blockbuster of year for movies, and for some of these films, expectations are already sky-high. This list will spotlight some of the most anticipated movies of 2020, and while these blockbusters will see fans flocking to the cinema, be sure to keep an eye out for those smaller films that have the potential to move viewers.

1917

A hot contender for this years Oscars, 1917 looks like a tense war film that spotlights the struggles of two young soldiers tasked with the responsibility of hand-delivering a message to another Battalion that could save thousands of lives. With the high stakes, mounting tension, and stellar cast performance, I have no doubt that this film will be a cinematic masterpiece. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: Aurora Burning

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

40516960This week I am waiting on
Aurora Burning (The Aurora Cycle, #2) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Publication Date: May 5th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
Our heroes are back… kind of. From the bestselling co-authors of the Illuminae Files comes the second book in the epic series about a squad of misfits, losers, and discipline cases who just might be the galaxy’s best hope for survival.

First, the bad news: an ancient evil—you know, your standard consume-all-life-in-the-galaxy deal—is about to be unleashed. The good news? Squad 312 is standing by to save the day. They’ve just got to take care of a few small distractions first.

Like the clan of gremps who’d like to rearrange their favorite faces.

Continue reading

Best of 2019: Books, TV, and Film

2019 has come and gone within the blink of an eye. We were spoilt for choice in entertainment last year with more streaming services being developed, quality films being produced, and a slew of compelling books to add to our tbr’s. It’s hard to keep track of them all, but here are some of my favourites that I read/watched in 2019.

Books

As many of you know, 2019 was not the best reading year. However, instead of focusing on the number of books read, I’m choosing to look at the quality of the books. Two books, in particular, stood out for their creativity, characters, and intricate world-building.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Laini Taylor has a way with words that will leave you feeling enchanted. Strange the Dreamer, while slow to begin with, is an example of just how vivid and creative Taylor’s writing is. Strange the Dreamer is a lot of things, but at the heart of the book, you have a tale of a community shadowed by their history. Weep is a character in itself as the city is overshadowed by the constant reminder of their desperation and the destruction that followed. Both humans and monsters alike were victims of such brutality. Yet, hope remains as Lazlo Strange comes to understand the consequences of the atrocities committed in Weep, and his compassion could be that bridge that unites the occupants of Weep. This is a book that will sweep you off your feet. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: More than Just a Pretty Face

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

42655335This week I am waiting on
More Than Just a Pretty Face by Syed M. Masood

Publication Date: August 4th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Danyal Jilani doesn’t lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he’s funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn’t approve of his career choice, but that hardly matters. What does matter is the opinion of Danyal’s longtime crush, the perfect-in-all-ways Kaval, and her family, who consider him a less than ideal arranged marriage prospect.

Continue reading