Waiting on Wednesday: A Touch of Gold

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

https://images.gr-assets.com/books/1513277790l/36575823.jpgThis week I am waiting on
A Touch of Gold by Annie Sullivan

Publication Date: August 14th, 2018

Goodreads Summary
King Midas once had the ability to turn all he touched into gold. But after his gift—or curse—almost killed his daughter, Midas relinquished The Touch forever. Ten years later, Princess Kora still bears the consequences of her father’s wish: her skin shines golden, rumors follow her everywhere she goes, and she harbors secret powers that are getting harder to hide.

Kora spends her days locked in the palace, concealed behind gloves and veils, trying to ignore the stares and gossip of courtiers. It isn’t until a charming young duke arrives that Kora realizes there may be someone out there who doesn’t fear her or her curse. But their courtship is disrupted when a thief steals precious items from the kingdom, leaving the treasury depleted and King Midas vulnerable. Thanks to her unique ability to sense gold, Kora is the only one who can track the thief down. As she sails off on her quest, Kora learns that not everything is what it seems—not thieves, not pirates, and not even curses. She quickly discovers that gold—and the power it brings—is more dangerous than she’d ever believed.

Midas learned his lesson at a price. What will Kora’s journey cost?

From author Annie Sullivan comes A Touch of Gold, the untold story of the daughter King Midas turned to gold, perfect for fans of Cinder and The Wrath and the Dawn.


This book sounds full of intrigue. I think it’s a fascinating concept and is a great way to explore the power and influence gold has on, not just an individual, but on the world, and the consequences that come with that power. I think this book may not be as straightforward as the premise makes it seen, and I think that we will be treated to an array of twists and turns that will have us on the edge of our seats.

What’s your most anticipated book?

10 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: A Touch of Gold

    1. I’ve definitely been on a contemporary kick these past couple months, but this definitely sounds interesting. I just have to be in the right mood for fantasy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s