Most Anticipated Movies of 2020

2020 is shaping up to be a blockbuster of year for movies, and for some of these films, expectations are already sky-high. This list will spotlight some of the most anticipated movies of 2020, and while these blockbusters will see fans flocking to the cinema, be sure to keep an eye out for those smaller films that have the potential to move viewers.

1917

A hot contender for this years Oscars, 1917 looks like a tense war film that spotlights the struggles of two young soldiers tasked with the responsibility of hand-delivering a message to another Battalion that could save thousands of lives. With the high stakes, mounting tension, and stellar cast performance, I have no doubt that this film will be a cinematic masterpiece. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: Aurora Burning

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

40516960This week I am waiting on
Aurora Burning (The Aurora Cycle, #2) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Publication Date: May 5th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
Our heroes are back… kind of. From the bestselling co-authors of the Illuminae Files comes the second book in the epic series about a squad of misfits, losers, and discipline cases who just might be the galaxy’s best hope for survival.

First, the bad news: an ancient evil—you know, your standard consume-all-life-in-the-galaxy deal—is about to be unleashed. The good news? Squad 312 is standing by to save the day. They’ve just got to take care of a few small distractions first.

Like the clan of gremps who’d like to rearrange their favorite faces.

Continue reading

Best of 2019: Books, TV, and Film

2019 has come and gone within the blink of an eye. We were spoilt for choice in entertainment last year with more streaming services being developed, quality films being produced, and a slew of compelling books to add to our tbr’s. It’s hard to keep track of them all, but here are some of my favourites that I read/watched in 2019.

Books

As many of you know, 2019 was not the best reading year. However, instead of focusing on the number of books read, I’m choosing to look at the quality of the books. Two books, in particular, stood out for their creativity, characters, and intricate world-building.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Laini Taylor has a way with words that will leave you feeling enchanted. Strange the Dreamer, while slow to begin with, is an example of just how vivid and creative Taylor’s writing is. Strange the Dreamer is a lot of things, but at the heart of the book, you have a tale of a community shadowed by their history. Weep is a character in itself as the city is overshadowed by the constant reminder of their desperation and the destruction that followed. Both humans and monsters alike were victims of such brutality. Yet, hope remains as Lazlo Strange comes to understand the consequences of the atrocities committed in Weep, and his compassion could be that bridge that unites the occupants of Weep. This is a book that will sweep you off your feet. Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday: More than Just a Pretty Face

Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, and adapted to Can’t-Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

42655335This week I am waiting on
More Than Just a Pretty Face by Syed M. Masood

Publication Date: August 4th, 2020

Goodreads Summary
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Danyal Jilani doesn’t lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he’s funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn’t approve of his career choice, but that hardly matters. What does matter is the opinion of Danyal’s longtime crush, the perfect-in-all-ways Kaval, and her family, who consider him a less than ideal arranged marriage prospect.

Continue reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Books for the First Half of 2020.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and Bookish and hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl where we get a new topic for a top 10 list.

Happy Tuesday everyone. I hope you’ve all recovered from the festivities and have welcomed in the new year. One of the biggest challenges of being a reader is the never-ending list of books that are constantly added to our tbr lists. 2020 is shaping up to be yet another great year for books, and here are the books I’m highly anticipating for the first half of the year. 

1.Dark and Deepest Red by Anna-Marie McLemore (January 14): Anna-Marie McLemore has built quite the reputation as a beautiful and lyrical writer. Her books are a gateway to the world of magical realism, so who wouldn’t be waiting on this book?
Continue reading

December Wrap Up 2019

Goodbye 2019, and welcome 2020. I can’t quite believe that we’re entering a new decade. It’s all a bit bizarre. I hope you’ve all had a wonderful festive holiday and that you’re welcoming in 2020 with a smile on your face. 

December has well and truly come and gone, and with the feasting and merriment comes a time of reflection and aspirations for the new year. I, on the other hand, feel like I need a holiday to recover from the holiday. Christmas was a relaxed event, but over the festive period, you tend to get a lot of visitors, meaning you never really stop playing host. Now, it’s back to the daily grind of work, and the festive period went by so fast it doesn’t even feel like we’ve entered a new year, let alone a new decade.

Nevertheless, Christmas gave me a chance to catch some films and indulge in the internet’s latest obsession, The Witcher. I’m already adding it to my ‘best of 2019’ list because it was such a fun show to watch. The fantasy elements are so well done, the banter between certain characters is brilliant, and there is so much potential in this franchise. So, if you haven’t done so already, go watch The Witcher, even if it’s just to listen to Jaskier’s wonderful songs.

Image result for jaskier the witcher gif Continue reading

TV Talk: The Witcher

Henry Cavill, Freya Allan, and Anya Chalotra in The Witcher (2019)The Witcher
Creator: Lauren Schmidt
Starring: Henry Cavill, Freya Allan, Anya Chalotra, Joey Batey
IMDB Rating: 8.6/10
Synopsis
The Witcher follows the story of Geralt of Rivia, a solitary monster hunter, who struggles to find his place in a world where people often prove more wicked than monsters and beasts. But when destiny hurtles him toward a powerful sorceress, and a young princess with a special gift, the three must learn to navigate independently the increasingly volatile Continent.
Continue reading